New Investigator Award

CLOSING DATE: Annual Scientific Meeting Abstract Deadline

The New Investigator Award for excellence in the conduct and presentation of research will be made at the Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM) of the ASA and ASTA. Presentations for consideration for this award will be presented during the New Investigator Symposium.

All eligible applicants must be a member of the Australasian Sleep Association or Australasian Sleep Technologists Association. The original work to be presented will have been carried out by the applicant, during the applicants research training (up to and including PhD studies or equivalent). Previous winners are ineligible. The age of the applicant will not determine eligibility. The applicant’s eligibility should be verified by their Supervisor or Head of Department.

Eligible abstracts will be reviewed by the ASA Research Committee, and successful applicants will be required to present their abstract as an oral presentation in the New Investigator Symposium at the ASM. The presentation will be ten minutes followed by five minutes for questions

For more details and instructions please click here
To view the application form please click here


2016 Liora Kempler
2015 Yasaman Djavadkhani
​2014 Cassie Hilditch
2013 Julia Chapman
2012 Karinna Fyfe
2011 Lauren Nisbet
2010 Rebecca Robillard
2009 Heidi Richardson
2008 Andrew Vakulin
2007 Nicole Witcombe
2006 Sarah Jay
2005 Garun Hamilton
2004 Michael Hlavac
​2003 Siobhan Banks
2002 Brendon Yee
2001 Amy Jordan