Home  »  About  »  ASA Board

Australasian Sleep Association Board

Please contact a board member through the Executive Officer:

Australasian Sleep Association
114/30 Campbell St
Blacktown, NSW 2148
Phone: 02 9920 1968
Email: executiveofficer@sleep.org.au 


Prof Peter Eastwood

Centre for Sleep Science, University of WA

Peter Eastwood is a biomedical research scientist who holds appointments as Foundation Director of the Centre for Sleep Science, University of Western Australia, NHMRC Senior Research Fellow at the West Australian Disorders Research Institute, Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital, and Director of the West Australian Pregnancy Cohort (Raine) Study. His research is focused on understanding the pathogenesis and improving the diagnosis and treatment of obstructive sleep apnoea.

Incoming President

Dr Alan Young

Eastern Health, VIC

Alan Young is a Sleep Disorders and Respiratory Physician at Eastern Health in Melbourne, where he holds the position of Director of Sleep Services and Non-invasive ventilation. He also holds an adjunct appointment with Monash University. His main research interest is the study of acute and chronic non-invasive ventilation including models of care.

Clinical Chair

Dr Sutapa Mukherjee

Adelaide Institute for Sleep Health, SA

Sutapa Mukherjee is a respiratory and sleep physician at the Southern Adelaide Local Health Network and in private practice. She holds an adjunct appointment as Associate Professor, Adelaide Institute for Sleep Health, Flinders University. She is a sleep epidemiologist with particular interest in the genetics of sleep apnoea and sleep health.

Clinical Chair roles and responsibilities 

Conference Chair

Dr Andrew Gikas

Oakleigh Dental Sleep, VIC

Andrew Gikas is a dental surgeon in private practice in Melbourne, is an Associate of IBAS and also holds a clinical teaching role at the University of Melbourne’s Melbourne Dental Clinic. He has interests and been involved in oral appliance research, education, clinical practice and has enjoyed a number of roles and responsibilities across the association sector.

Conference Chair roles and responsibilities 

Education Chair

Dr Ching Li Chai-Coetzer 

Adelaide Institute for Sleep Health, SA

Dr Ching Li Chai-Coetzer is a respiratory and sleep physician at the Southern Adelaide Local Health Network and NHMRC postdoctoral early career research fellow at Flinders University. Her principal research interest is in sleep medicine clinical research trials, with a focus on community-based ambulatory models of care for obstructive sleep apnoea (OSA), OSA education in primary care and optimizing treatment adherence for OSA patients.

Education Chair roles and responsibilities  

Finance Chair

A/Prof Nathaniel Marshall 

Woolcock Institute for Medical Research
The University of Sydney, NSW

Nathaniel Marshall is a clinical epidemiologist specialising in the design, conduct and reporting of clinical trials for sleep disorders. He also investigates the public health impact of insufficient sleep and sleep disorders and health system activity aimed at sleep problems.

Finance Chair roles and responsibilities

Membership Chair

A/Prof Kristina Kairaitis

Westmead Millennium Institute, NSW

Associate Professor Kristina Kairaitis is a respiratory and sleep physician and a senior staff specialist at Westmead hospital in Sydney. Her research interests are in upper airway physiology, OSA and vascular disease and interactions between sleep and cancer. 

Research Chair

Prof Danny Eckert

Neuroscience Research Australia, NSW

Associate Professor Danny Eckert is a NHMRC Senior Research Fellow and Director of the sleep program at Neuroscience Research Australia (NeuRA) in Sydney. He leads a multidisciplinary team all of whom are dedicated to identifying the causes of obstructive sleep apnoea and developing novel tailored therapies.

Research Chair roles and responsibilities 

President, New Zealand Branch

Dr Angela Campbell

University of Otago, NZ

Angela is the manager of WellSleep, the University of Otago Wellington Sleep Investigation Centre and a Senior Lecturer in the Department of Medicine. She has worked in both paediatric and adult sleep services during and since completing her PhD in 1997. Research interests include the provision of healthy sleep education to the public, technology in the treatment of sleep disorders, familial links in OSA and family experiences with PAP.

Invited ASTA Representative

Dr Kerri Melehan

University of Sydney, NSW

Kerri Melehan is a senior sleep scientist from Royal Prince Alfred Hospital in Sydney. She also runs short courses and teaches sleep at University of Sydney. She did her PhD on ‘OSA and sexual function in men and she is the current president of the Australasian Sleep Technologist Association.

Strategic Planning and Innovation

Dr Marcus McMahon

ASA Secretariat

Executive Officer/Company Secretary: 
Stephanie Blower 
Australasian Sleep Association, NSW 

Senior Administrative Officer: 
Helen Burdette 
Australasian Sleep Association, NSW 

Communications Manager: 
Mischka Yates 
Australasian Sleep Association, NSW 

Administrative Officer: 
Mareta Ikimata
Australasian Sleep Association, NSW  


Upcoming Event Dental Sleep Medicine 2019 16 Oct - 18 Oct 2019 VIEW EVENT