ASA International Travel Award

Funded by Queensland Sleep Partners

Two international travel awards of $5,000 each are offered to ASA Members to support early and mid-career sleep researchers. Researchers should be no more than 10 years post-Ph.D. or equivalent training. The intention of this award is to provide an opportunity for outstanding early- or mid-career researchers who may otherwise find it difficult to support their travel costs to showcase their sleep research at an international meeting.

The ASA research committee will review the applications and select recipients based on:

  1. Abstract to be presented at the meeting (300 words maximum)
  2. Brief CV (3 page maximum). Applicants will be assessed relative to opportunity and should consider including the following:
  • ASA membership number, qualifications, employment and appointment history
  • Brief research summary statement
  • Publications, awards and honours
  • Research support - including grants, fellowships, travel awards
  • Summary of conference presentations/talks
  • Professional involvement – including committees, conference organisation
  • Supervision and mentoring
  • Peer review involvement (granting organisations, manuscripts, editorial responsibilities)
  • Any other information you think is vital to your application.
  • Statement outlining (3/4 page maximum):
  • Which meeting the applicant would like to attend (must be within the next 12 months)
  • How attending the meeting would enhance their career in sleep health/sleep science
  • A declaration statement as to whether or not other funds are available to support the proposed travel and a proposed budget outline.

Successful recipients will not be eligible to apply for this Award in future years.
Recipients will be required to write a brief report for the ASA newsletter upon completion of the award.

Applications Close: 31st July

Applications should be sent by email to:
Australasian Sleep Association
Fax: +61 2 9672 3884 - Email:

Award notification
The award will generally be announced and awarded at the Annual Scientific Meeting although the international travel may occur prior to the official announcement.

Award Recipients

2016: Michelle Short & Sophie Carter
2015: Lisa Walter & Jason Amatoury